Tarot Guidance for Guru Purnima

Today, we celebrate Guru Purnima, a festival dedicated to spiritual and academic teachers. This festival falls on the Full Moon Day  (Purnima) in the Hindu month of Ashadha (June–July), and this day marks the first peak of the lunar cycle after the peak of the solar cycle. It is believed that Guru Purnima is the day when Shiva became the Adi Guru –first teacher. This day has been astutely woven into various mythological stories like the Mahabharata, and is also celebrated by Jains and Buddhists, along with Hindus.

In Thomas Carruthers words, a teacher is one who makes himself progressively unnecessary; and that’s exactly how life functions when it comes to her role of playing the Guru. Life continues to teach us lessons as she diminishes with every passing moment like a burning candle, and these life lessons are portals to deep wisdom necessary for the evolution of our soul. There can be no better teacher than life itself for the one who looks at every life situation as an opportunity to learn valuable life lessons that contribute to our growth as a human being.

Here’s my Tarot spread to honour life, the biggest Guru that we all can learn a lot from.

spread

 

 

The detailed explanation for each of the card positions is as follows :
Card 1 – What lesson my present life situation is teaching me?
Card 2 – What supports me in learning this life lesson?
Card 3 – What hinders me in learning this life lesson?
Card 4 – How can I align this life lesson with my life purpose?
Card 5 – What is the guidance for me from Life as my Guru?
Card 6 – What is the wisdom I will take back from this life lesson?

 

 

 

Here’s a reading I did for myself with the Guru Purnima Spread :

my spread

Card 1 – What lesson my present life situation is teaching me?
Daughter of Cups – I need to balance my creativity with reality by being grounded; it’s time to put the foundations under the castles I have built in air.
Card 2 – What supports me in learning this life lesson?
8 of Wands – The clarity I have, and my openness to embrace change supports me in this learning process by putting my plans into motion.
Card 3 – What hinders me in learning this life lesson?
5 of Swords – My inability to choose peace over unnecessary battles and conflicts.
Card 4 – How can I align this life lesson with my life purpose?
9 of Pentacles – By focusing on my work, my material and spiritual goals will be in a harmonious synch.
Card 5 – What is the guidance for me from Life as my Guru?
The Devil – I need to free myself from self-doubt and fears that stop me from moving ahead.
Card 6 – What is the wisdom I will take back from this life lesson?
8 of Pentacles – I need to hone my skills and find mastery in my craft with dedication and perseverance.

The deck used here is ‘The Wild Unknown Tarot’ by Kim Krans.

Learning can be fun too, if you look at the process with wonder and enthusiasm, if you understand that even difficulties have within them the seeds for joy that comes from progressing on our life path. Today, I bow down to all my teachers, my parents, my children, my pets and life itself, with deep respect and heartfelt gratitude.

Wishing you all an auspicious Guru Purnima!

 

 

Leave a Reply

